When Tech Millionaires Attack

Taylor Nichols, MD
6 min readJan 14, 2022

So, apparently this guy Steve Kirsch wanted to “debate” me and sent me a DM the other day. I never saw his message. We don’t follow each other. I’d never heard of him. So of course this doesn’t show up in my DMs, and on review didn’t seem to appear in my Message Requests either.

That “Debate me bro” ask was apparently sent on Wednesday morning. I never saw the message, and hadn’t responded. By Thursday morning, Steve had posted an entire Substack article attacking me and playing the perpetual victim card that this group loves to play — expressing outrage at their faux-pression and pretending that they are being silenced.

This phenomenon of the “debate bro” in online culture is well-articulated here — and yes I do understand the irony of referring to a Daily Wire article:

“Of course, this tactic ignores the obvious reality that every individual has the right to freedom of association, and there is no God-given right to social interaction — or the platform which someone else has built.

However, its application is hugely effective for those who exist in the arena of attention-seeking stunts. For them, debate is not the goal. It is simply the artificial veil used to hide their hungry desire for notoriety at any cost.”

And another article on the topic, based around the same “debate”:

“I’ve done debates on the internet, and it’s just pseudo-intellectual wrestling. It’s sport, and it’s not productive…it fosters a really toxic environment. People just want to beat their opponent, so they’re not necessarily ideologically shifting anyone…These debates are rarely about ideas, but instead a personal branding project.”

After his Twitter post about me and his article were sent to me to notify me, and after reviewing my messages to see if I had any from him yet seeing none, I responded to him publicly on his post, with a thread.

After receiving no direct response to my thread, I went to message him directly and the message you see posted above was there.

“Hi Steve. Since we don’t follow each other this never came to my DMs and I’m just seeing your message from yesterday. Would you mind responding to my posts to you then?”

And then referred directly back to a post from my threaded response which contains a screenshot of one of the many hate messages that ensued after Steve posted and tweeted his article:

His only response:

So, I figured I would just post my full response to him publicly as plenty of people seem to be very upset that I hadn’t responded:

“Steve, I’m not sure you’re following what I mentioned above. You’re welcome to read what I posted in response, there’s a thread there. You’re also welcome to respond to such, publicly.

First, I have offered to extend the benefit of the doubt to you and genuinely believe you mean well and want the best for people; however, I think you are misguided. While you claim to think you know my opinions and stances, I’m guessing you actually do not.

Second, I meant the level of discourse you are engendering with your rhetoric. I posted just one example of many responses and threats that I received directly. I’m not sure if you bother reading through the comments on Twitter or worse on your substack, but if you don’t you should consider it — and then consider the types of responses you are getting and the type of speech and threats that you are fomenting with your rhetoric.

Third, you attacked me on the specious claim that I was ignoring you. I’ll be honest, I hadn’t received your first comments and only saw your comment from yesterday because I went to message you to reach out, after seeing your attack against me. I’ll be honest, I was sent your post by someone else who had seen it, but I didn’t know who you were or anything about you until yesterday. I never posted anything about you previously until trying to figure out who you were and doing some research, and posted an article about you then.

I’ve offered to answer any questions that you have, I’ve offered to accept any constructive criticism or feedback, and welcome any argument in writing. I owe no one here my time, my platform, or my deference. Given that I want to believe that you have good intentions and mean well, I would be willing to engage in a way that respects my boundaries in that regard as well. I want what is best for my patients, and want nothing more than to keep them safe, healthy, and alive.

I helped start a grassroots organization that is self-funded, takes no outside funding, has only received a handful of small donations which haven’t even covered our operating fees. I do this in my free time with a group of others on the belief that we need good science to lead, and that medical boards exist to hold people accountable. I don’t believe that I am or that any one of my colleagues are the arbiter of truth, but that the overwhelming scientific evidence and consensus is and that medical boards are charged with acting upon that. The Federation of State Medical Boards stated over the summer that they would hold physicians accountable who spread disinformation — and we know that there are people actively doing such that are outright lies, such as that vaccines cause magnetism, are implanting 5G or nanochips, are causing AIDS, etc. These are often politically and/or profit motivated and are directly harmful by sowing doubting and convincing people faced with otherwise overwhelming and conflicting information not to take precautions or get vaccinated. I have seen the direct harms of that clinically, coding young patients from respiratory arrests in the setting of severe COVID, watching people suffer and die or have long-term consequences and disability due to COVID, as I have treated many severely ill COVID patients in the emergency department who are unvaccinated, often due to this sowing of doubt due to disinformation.

I have never taken a single cent from pharmaceutical companies and I have no conflicts of interest. My only motivation is to keep people safe and healthy. That’s why I went into medicine, and that’s why I chose emergency medicine. The only money I make is for my clinical work. That’s it. This is what I do with my free time when not working or with my family. Also, you should know that this has nothing to do with you because it’s only about licensed medical physicians, and unless I missed something, I don’t believe you are. Again, I only had a day to do background research so apologies in advance if I’m incorrect there.

If you’re looking for discourse to “resolve our obvious differences,” I’m not sure you’re going to find such because you seem fairly consistent and firmly set in your beliefs and your mindset. Seeing as you’ve had to give up positions such as CEO and being on boards for your beliefs, I doubt anything will resolve our differences or that any information will change your mind. You’re welcome to ask questions and I can address them when I have free time away from clinical work and time with my family. Thank you, stay safe, and have a good day 🙏.”

There you have it. Feel free to criticize me, I know that I am imperfect just as everyone else, but at least be honest and stop yelling about me not responding.

Also, while you’re at it, consider reading this article about Steve:

--

--

Taylor Nichols, MD

Humanist. Emergency Medicine and AddictiEmergency + Addiction Medicine | Health policy and advocacy | Health tech and innovation